Carpe Diem

Translated from Latin as ‘Seize the day’, this phrase is used to urge someone to make the most of the present time, giving little or no thought to the future. It is meant as a warning for us simple humans. It reminds us that the only sure thing in this world is what lies in front of us and we better take advantage of it because we never know when the opportunity clock will stop ticking.

I am a firm believer. I believe you should take the job even if it means moving to another country. I believe you should go out tonight to spend more time with your friend that’s visiting, even if you have an important meeting tomorrow morning. I believe you should talk to the guy in the bar. I believe you should let yourself fall in love even if he happens to leave a week from tomorrow. I believe you should take a leap of faith even if it makes no sense.

I’m not known for being the most rational person. For 4 years I dated someone who lived 5 hours ahead of me. I moved to a different continent where they spoke a foreign language, without a clue of what I was going to do. I bought a plane ticket to Sicily with no plans once I landed. I moved to New York without a job. I completely fell for a guy who I knew was no good.

Oh Carpe Diem, a simple and short phrase I love, with long lasting implications I (don’t entirely) hate. Yes, ‘Carpe Diem’ believers tend to make more mistakes than non-believers, they also tend to get hurt more often, and probably fear for their lives more times in a year than non-believers do in a lifetime. But without all the mistakes I’ve made I would have no stories to tell, I would have nothing to look back to and laugh.  If I were scared of getting hurt I wouldn’t have fallen and I would’ve never learnt how to heal. If I had let the fear for the unknown win I wouldn’t have ever experienced if it’s really that scary or not: to learn a new language, to travel alone, to start over, to depend on others, to get a broken heart. And believe me, you always think it’s scarier than it actually turns out to be!

So even though today I write with great disappointment in my heart, I invite you to seize the moment… If I hadn’t done so, this would’ve been my second year firmly believing that the perfect guy does not exist.

(He does, maybe he just doesn’t live where you do…)

About hipcoulture

Sicilian mud-bath. undecided at mind, decided at heart. brave when moving away, a coward when saying goodbye. great when talking about others, terrible when talking about myself. love travelling... love everything about it.
This entry was posted in True Life: Telenovela Style and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Carpe Diem

  1. Charleens says:

    Me encanto este post Frances <3

    I miss u colora!

  2. Kisa Zaidi says:

    Like they say, either life leads you or you lead life!

Leave some Love. Any. I'm not that picky.

