Lost in Translation

Dating. I believe in the Old Latin, chauvinistic way of dating. It’s romantic, it’s simple, and it leaves no room for interpretation. Boy meets girl, they lock eyes, he approaches her with a smart witty comment, perhaps makes her laugh, and keeps her interested enough to want to know more about him. He asks for her phone number, and boom! it’s a sealed deal.

Apparently not.

I would love for someone to explain why on Earth a guy would approach a girl, have a chat, ask for her phone number, and never call. You see, in my ideal world of dating, a guy would never ask a girl for her number unless he was interested. I believe that approaching someone is pretty intimidating, so why would anyone go through the thought of rejection if they weren’t truly interested. And if she, on the other hand, gives him her phone number it’s clearly because she must be interested. At least that’s the way I see it. It’s plain and simple so what is wrong with you, New York?

So back to the title.

Lately I’ve been criticized for being too… how do you say… difficult. Apparently, the above description of a first move is too idealistic and unreal for this city. So, I’ve decided to take some initiative. This is how it went:

The ‘too bad’, was my way of saying ‘I’m over this’. Make a little effort, ask one of your Latin friends what it means, or at least use Google translate… I wish things would’ve ended there and then. However, he decided to respond in his language with “You’re right maybe we should continue in Danish”  so I thought it wasn’t all lost. I proceeded to use Google translate to reply. However, by the time he continued in English our conversation had veered and I was lost.

It took him one hour to reply to my English version. Which makes this, two of the most painful hours in my life. They made me acknowledge that the reason why I believe in the Old Latin way of dating is because I can’t handle rejection. I wasn’t built to, so good luck to all of you,  there is no way I am ever contacting a guy again.

About hipcoulture

Sicilian mud-bath. undecided at mind, decided at heart. brave when moving away, a coward when saying goodbye. great when talking about others, terrible when talking about myself. love travelling... love everything about it.
This entry was posted in True Life: Telenovela Style and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lost in Translation

  1. Megan says:

    God I love you. This made my day :)

  2. hipcoulture says:

    Aww thank you gorgeous!

  3. Lia says:

    hahaha! te acabo de ver iphone en mano, esperando el text y trying not to look at it every 5 mins. que cabronsitooooo!!!!!

Leave some Love. Any. I'm not that picky.

