I don’t want to shop, they force me to.

Ok, so I’ve been trying to save money.

This however, seems to be impossible since I’m working in a store which clothes retail from $100 (we’re talking about leggings) to $600. I am supposed to wear their designs, not one item, but three items of clothing (meaning: skirt/pant + shirt + jacket, or a dress + jacket + of course accessories). They only give me a 50% discount in eight items per month, which I’m only allowed to buy a month after we’ve had it in stock. Which means that by the time I can buy the clothes, all the excitement and thrill of buying -that beautiful piece of clothing I NEED in my life because I’ve NEVER seen anything as gorgeous and divine that makes me stare at it with lust every single time I walk past it- has blurred away after seeing woman after woman of every shape and size try it on and buy it over and over again, to the point I don’t even want to see it again. Not ever.  Not to mention spending half of my salary, if not more, on it.

So then what can I do? Right! I’ll just keep using the clothes I bought last month.

Sure. Well the thing is… if I happen to repeat the same items of clothing too often they demand for me to be more creative. In other words they’re telling me I need to buy more clothes. So now I’m a slave. Yep! They pay for my hours of work, with the condition I spend on what they tell me to spend it on. On their clothes. So the money keeps going ’round and ’round, never leaving the place.

But how can any ‘stylist’ afford to buy ALL of their clothes there! Well, there’s a loophole.  If I wear black attire, I can use it from any store.

Which brings me to my best friend and worst enemy:  Forever 21.

Now their clothes are SO cheap, I end up buying the whole thing. And I’m not saying I’m buying 10-15 pieces of black attire… Come on, how can I buy black when it’s Spring and they have blues, and yellows, and nudes…*sigh* So then I end up spending my money on mini skirts, shorts, white blouses, flowery dresses, jumpers, and uncomfortable shoes I would never wear to work, and never will.

So then comes the guilt, because not only did I buy all these things I didn’t need… but I’m probably supporting child labor, sweat shops, the violation of civil rights, the widening gap between the poor and the rich, and all of those terrible things capitalism implies… 😦  it makes me so sad!

So I go back and return it all… but they will only give me a store credit. So I take it.

I have a look around… and exchange it for something else I definitely need and will definitely use. After all, the clothes was already produced and the money was already spent. Nothing I can change about that. The only thing is this time I spend an extra $40 because I really liked this necklace, and ring, and bracelets, and bag… I pay the extra money and go straight home. Then I look at the stuff, and I love it! But then the guilt starts creeping on… this time not only do I feel guilty about everything that’s wrong with the world, but about having no money saved. So I go back and return it.

The only thing is I had $20 bill stashed in my wallet for emergencies… and I spend it.

And so it carries on for weeks, and months. Seriously! I have to control myself!

So I’ve decided BASTA. Enough is enough. I will now return all of my clothes and instead of exchanging them (because apparently I have no self-control) I will sell my store credit to a friend who will either way keep sponsoring their evil ways. I will then use the money in something I really need… like saving.

But I still “need to be more creative” with the way I dress. Which brings me back to where I started, back to my store. I spend 5 times the amount I would spend in Forever 21, but buy the one thing I will actually wear.

Now this leaves me with two major problems:

1. The money I didn’t save in these past months is gone, and I won’t be ready for that big something, I feel is about to happen in April.

2. The clothes in my store… They’re made in China.

About hipcoulture

Sicilian mud-bath. undecided at mind, decided at heart. brave when moving away, a coward when saying goodbye. great when talking about others, terrible when talking about myself. love travelling... love everything about it.
This entry was posted in True Life: Telenovela Style and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I don’t want to shop, they force me to.

  1. Charleen says:

    amazing… ajajajajajaa

    mi solucion a todo esto : PITCHAERA!!!

    y me ha funcionado bn… XD

  2. Lupe says:

    Honey, I think you are creative enough with your style. If someone tells you otherwise send them to el carajo.

    Let’s talk about your credit. I’m interested ; )

  3. Buy American Act very important!.. . pero si ta hace sentir mejor. Any building built w/ tax payers money by the federal government obey this act … Last month I made the contractor return A/C units made in china!
    I LOL por como describes tu guilt and problems.

    NYC wait for her!!

  4. cecilia says:

    jajajaja so true!!
    but…if you keep visiting forever 21 you will help me keep my job and i can go visit your store and help you keep yours!! jajaja

    es la hermanita de jesus btw!

Leave some Love. Any. I'm not that picky.

