I think my life came out of a Jumanji box.

I know I’ve been out of the loop for a while now. But I’m back with the unbelievably dramatic life of hipcoulture.

Yesterday I was woken up by a phone call urging me to get back home because my house was flooded; that my room in the second floor was flooded. The first thing that came up to my mind was that perhaps I left my window open and it rained so hard that water came in. Then I gave it a second thought and erased it from my head. It is impossible that I opened my window in these past days, due to the scorching heat and humidity that we have at the moment it is impossible to sleep without A/C.

So what could it be then?

It couldn’t possibly be from the washing machine. It’s not like I’m back in Rome, where I flooded my apartment not once, but twice, because I didn’t put the washing machine’s pump inside the bathtub.

Apparently what’s common sense in Rome is nonsense in Puerto Rico. I had never experienced or even heard of the need to put a washing machine’s pump inside a bathtub because the house is so old that it doesn’t have the proper drainage required. I mean, it makes no sense to me. You see the closest river to where I lived was about two hours away by foot, so there is no way in hell that they used to go to the river to wash their clothes – the only plausible excuse as to why they don’t have washer machine drainage – Although then again, they do have a few fountains around. I mean, the Romans did build the first aqueduct system in order to supply towns with water, so I guess they didn’t need to go to the river to wash their clothes. Oh well, the point is it wasn’t common sense to me, and I did manage to flood two apartments and get away with it because I couldn’t understand half of what was being said by my angry neighbor and I guess my smile helped.

Ok, so back to the apparent flood home.

I get home and see mom mopping downstairs, family room, kitchen, everything. Go upstairs and see my closet on top of my bed but can’t really comprehend what’s going on. I sit in bed and stand up covered in water. Ok can someone explain what the hell happened here?

brother: You know Jumanji? Well imagine the house is the jungle and your room is the waterfall. Water was coming down pouring from your A/C onto your bed, down to the floor, into my room, cascading down the stairs and then dividing at the landing to form a beautiful cascade.

me: … Oh well it could’ve been worse. You could’ve opened my room to find crawling worms multiplying and eating everything around.

brother: What am I going to tell my professors? I’m on finals and all my uni material was destroyed by the water.

me: Just tell them about your sister, her stories with floods, missed planes due to terrorist scares, worms… Then tell them you live with me. They’ll understand.

Glad to be back!

About hipcoulture

Sicilian mud-bath. undecided at mind, decided at heart. brave when moving away, a coward when saying goodbye. great when talking about others, terrible when talking about myself. love travelling... love everything about it.
This entry was posted in True Life: Telenovela Style and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave some Love. Any. I'm not that picky.

