Home is wherever I’m with you

I didn’t only wake up singing to this happy love song, but I also woke up a bit teary eyed about not going home this Christmas.

I’ve been surprisingly nostalgic about home these days. Usually I can go a lot longer than 6 months without going home and there’s nothing that will crack me down. Phone communication, e-mail, or Skype, make everything seem so close by, and usually I’m so busy exploring a new place and meeting new people that I don’t have time to miss home. However, I’ve never spent Christmas away from home, and I think the fact that the only white thing I’ll get to see this winter is snow, was getting to me.

But not to worry! Edward Sharpe and The Magnetic Zeros have brought a smile back to my face.

‘Home’ makes me think of all the people who make me feel like home. It makes me appreciate everyone that in one way or another have made my life in foreign land feel like home. Particularly those who currently make my tiny hole in New York feel like it’s the best place in the world. It makes me forget about home as a place and reminds me that home is a state of mind.

We build our homes, and with the people who surround us, we make them as happy and pleasant as we want them to be. Therefore, even if I get a bit teary eyed because I miss my family and childhood friends, I can’t help but smile when I think about the upcoming Holidays and all the people I love who will be next to me.

This Christmas, there’s no need to catch a plane to go home.
I am home, thanks to you.

About hipcoulture

Sicilian mud-bath. undecided at mind, decided at heart. brave when moving away, a coward when saying goodbye. great when talking about others, terrible when talking about myself. love travelling... love everything about it.
This entry was posted in Música, True Life: Telenovela Style and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Home is wherever I’m with you

  1. Justin says:

    Love that song! Oh and “I think the fact that the only white thing I’ll get to see this winter is snow, was getting to me.” Classic.

  2. This will also be my first Christmas in New York City and not in Puerto Rico. At first I was upset about the fact that I wouldn’t be going home for Christmas. I felt like I was breaking a tradition and by doing so, chipping away at my culture and what makes me Puertorican.

    I came to the same realization you did a few days ago. My best friends will be in New York for the Holidays. They are the people who make my tiny little existence in this massive city feel meaningful. Home is where your friends are. Maybe if I’m lucky I’ll get to see you for Christmas… You’ll be a pleasant slice of home in NYC.

    BTW – this story titled “How To Live in New York City” will move you – http://thoughtcatalog.com/2010/how-to-live-in-new-york-city/

    Besos,

    Yianni

  3. Charleena says:

    aw ❤
    esto me llego 🙂

Leave some Love. Any. I'm not that picky.

