Somebody that I Used to Know

I love stumbling upon new music artists. Particularly when they happen to not only sing, but compose and produce their own albums. Australian alt-pop artist Wally de Backer, better known as Gotye, released the first single for his new album Making Mirrors, and when I first heard it, it broke my heart in a good way.

“Now and then I think of when we were together,
like when you said you felt so happy you could die…

So when we found that we could not make sense,
well you said that we would still be friends…
but you treat me like a stranger and that feels so rough”

Haven’t we all felt this way at some point? It makes me so sad to be a stranger with someone that I shared my love, my time, and my everything with. I’ve had plenty of heartbreaks, but I’ve only cut one person off my life and I still wish I could’ve dealt with it a better way. In ‘Somebody that I used to know’ Gotye finds a way to deeply resonate with this feeling, with his simple lyrics and deep heartfelt vocals. Just wait until you hear Kimbra come in. You’ll love her voice, you’ll love her lines.

And the video… well let’s just say that in the end someone’s left out of the picture. Literally.

Gotye: www.facebook.com/gotye
Kimbra: www.facebook.com/kimbramusic

About hipcoulture

Sicilian mud-bath. undecided at mind, decided at heart. brave when moving away, a coward when saying goodbye. great when talking about others, terrible when talking about myself. love travelling... love everything about it.
This entry was posted in Cool Hunting, Música and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave some Love. Any. I'm not that picky.

