Happiness can’t be bought – can it?

I still remember the time when a boyfriend of mine gave me a designer bag as a birthday gift. The poor thing was trying to prove his love, but he had no idea what he had gotten himself into. Looking back into it, I was definitely harsh, so if you’re reading this, I apologize, it was a very nice gift and I secretly wish I still had it. But at that moment I was not happy. I didn’t need a frivolous gift, I just needed a thoughtful one.

Now fast-forwarding to present time, I don’t consider my happiness to be particularly free, but I definitely don’t need a big loft in Manhattan, a fancy car, or a Chanel purse to achieve it.  I’m not saying it would hurt, but I don’t feel a need for it. My friends and family make me enjoy every second of my existence, and nothing can top that -except when I’m in love, of course- but unfortunately, maintaing this happiness is not free. I meet my friends for brunch and dinner, visit my family in Puerto Rico, go to weddings abroad, and like to travel at least once a year.

So I don’t think anyone can buy the moments that make us happy, but they could possibly pay for their setting. And if you don’t agree, we can discuss it after listening to the song that inspired this post.

Here’s Je Veux by Zaz.

For a version with English subtitles click here.

About hipcoulture

Sicilian mud-bath. undecided at mind, decided at heart. brave when moving away, a coward when saying goodbye. great when talking about others, terrible when talking about myself. love travelling... love everything about it.
Video | This entry was posted in Música and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave some Love. Any. I'm not that picky.

